Untitled Story (Prompt Challenge)

Prompt: The story is set during a party. The story takes place mid – fall. During the story a relative shows up.

Story is incomplete I wanted to know what your opinions.

If this girl bumps into me one more time I’m going to bump my fist with her face. I know space is limited in here but she doesn’t have to keep bumping into me as she grinds with a boy that’s more hair than body. I’m not even sure he has a face underneath the brown frizzy mess or if that’s a boy. She obviously has had too much to drink her tight pink tank is rising on her flat stomach as her skirt rises on her thin legs and she continues to dance with the boy as if no one is around but the house is full of people.

I look down at my own full cup and cringe. I hate the look, smell, and taste of beer but I want to have a good time for once at one of these things. I close my eyes, plug my nose with my left hand and chug my cup. I gag at first and almost spit it back into the cup but I’m committed to the cause and I finish my cup. Just as I sit my empty red cup on the mantle, my slow grinding neighbor has bumped me again and as promised to myself I punch her right into the face before I walk away in search of the keg.

The crowded living room parts as I make my way to the dining room. Of course everyone just saw me punch the girl but no one saw her bumping me. Great. I really didn’t want to come here and be noticed I just wanted to blend in for once. I wanted to enjoy myself.

“Kaden!” I turn in the direction I hear my name coming from. I see Mark my brother, turn around, and contine walking.

“Kaden!” Mark calls again. He’s closer this time I try to quicken my pace even though I know he’ll catch up.

“Kaden,” he says again as he grabs my arm, I stop walking and face him.

“Yes. Mark.” I don’t want my plans for the night to be ruined by anyone.

“Why are you here? Better yet why are you here and punching random people in the face?” He asks.

Mark is such a big brother even though he has five minutes on me he just has to treat me like a child.

“I’m here because I was invited. She had the punch coming.” I reply.

He looks as if I was speaking Greek.

“I don’t understand. Why would you come to a frat party you never party.” If I wasn’t so annoyed I would have to laugh at the look on his face. Mark and I aren’t exactly close. I think it’s partly because we’re polar opposites. I’m not exactly the party type or the type to throw punches.

“Is this about the other day?” He asks concerned.

“NO! Everything isn’t always about you. Where’s the keg?” I ask him. He has to know this is his party after all.

“You’re drinking?” He asks incredulous. He drops his head and points. “In the kitchen straight back there.” He points.

He lets me go and I start walking towards the back. I notice that instead of staying where he was he falls in step beside me. I guess he doesn’t believe me.

“Get lost.” I say.

“No.” He says with a smile.

He’s such a jerk. I don’t need a babysitter but I shouldn’t be so quick to blow him off.

“Fine.” I say.

As we’re walking towards the kitchen I notice the stares. People always stare when I’m with Mark. They always wonder how he can be him and I’m me but we’re twins. Fraternal but we look exactly alike. Same dark brown eyes, same thick curly hair and same smile. I use mine less often than he does. He has a whole foot on me at 6′ 4″ but everyone knows when they see us that we’re related.

“Hi Mark!” A girl screamed at him.

My brother just smiled and waved at the poor girl not missing a step.

“Who was that?” I asked.

“I’m not sure. I think she’s in one of my classes.” He replies.

I shake my head. I hope he’s not one of those guys that has sex with women but can’t remember their names. Mark may  be popular but I doubt he’s that sleazy. I don’t really know him anymore.

“I hope you’re not a sleaze ball.” I say.

“How can you say such things about your big brother?” He asks mock hurt on his face with one hand on his chest.

“Five minutes hardly makes you a big brother.” I retort.

He’s laughing and I’m back to me. I should just cut my losses and leave I don’t know what I set out to accomplish this evening but I’m not sure drinking and partying will be the way to go.

“I’m leaving.” I say to Mark as we reach the kitchen packed full of drunk college students.

“Why?” He asks grabbing two cups.

“I’m just not feeling it anymore. This isn’t my scene.” I say.

“Well you should stay and hang out with me. I’ve barely seen you since the semester started.” He says.

Should I stay here at this party or to my dorm room to homework and books?

“Hey Mark! Kaden!” My hearts flutters as I hear my name come from the mouth of Nick Drew.

“I’ll stay.” I say to Mark. “Hi Nick!”

My plans for the night might not be ruined after all. I just wanted to have one conversation with Nick outside of Calculus. When he invited me to Mark’s party I saw the perfect opputunity to talk him but now I have to ditch Mark.

Leave a Reply

