Fear, The Motivator

Fear can be the greatest motivator. I’ve let fear hold me back for quite some time. Ever since I can remember I’ve been reading and writing. I’ve always walked around carrying books. One to write in and one to read. I’ve always loved to create my own world and get lost in worlds that others have created. I’ve also loved science not exactly related but I loved it nonetheless. It is now that I am thinking over my life do I realize that I’ve held this fear that writing should be a secret love while I keep my love for science out in the open.

I’ve been under the impression that I couldn’t be a successful writer. As much as I love post on this blog and as much as I love to create my own stories.  Fear was the motivator for me to pursue science in college and not creative writing as I wanted to. Fear is the reason why I have yet to post a complete story since my first and only complete story was published.  Fear kept me scared that my dreams could change and I wasn’t prepared for that.

I’m working to overcome that fear. I want to start posting more creative pieces on this blog along with my health posts. I don’t want anyone to feel like I’m changing the site. I am changing but I’m not take away from anything. I’m just adding to it.

I’m not afraid to say I’m not sure what my dreams are. I would love to get my PhD in Chemical Engineering but I would also love to have the freedom of a writer. I have a lot of work to do and a lot to think about.

3 Comments

  1. It’s called…. Life with Demetra. Don’t let the idea of someone not liking or understanding your journey hinder you ANY MORE! Write, write and keep writing! Write until you get that bubble blister on the tip of your middle finger from holding your pen too tight 🙂 I’m excited to see/read the new blossoms

Leave a Reply

