Hair Challenges

It’s been a challenge to find hair products that are all natural. I haven’t used shampoo since last year. I have naturally dry hair and scalp and I have low porosity hair. I noticed that shampoos leave my hair extremely dry and brittle and I needed to strengthen my hair if I was going to achieve my hair goals.

Challenge 1: Find a shampoo replacement or a conditioning was that moisturizing, chemical free, and very cleansing. I did not know it would take me over a year to find that product. There are so many natural products on the market but a lot of them are expensive and I did not have the money to try them out.
Terressentials was a line my favorite Vlogger Naptural 85 recommended. Their lavender garden seemed fitting for my hair but I just never tried them. Recently I discovered mud wash recipes and decided to make my own. I had all the ingredients I just needed the clay. Bentonite clay is used in Terressentials, Rhassoul clay was raved about.
In the end I used Aztec healing clay (Bentonite clay), organic unfiltered apple cider vinegar, sunflower oil, olive oil, castor oil, sweet almond oil, avocado oil, vitamin e oil, jojoba oil, water, peppermint essential oil, and lavender essential oil. I used it on dry hair and I did not detangle beforehand. I did not follow a set recipe. I promise next time to try and record how much of everything I use. My hair was so soft and tangle free (before I put my wide tooth comb to it). It was the best and the twist out I did after was my best ever.

Challenge 2: Find an all natural conditioner to cowash. Something to remove product buildup but also moisturizes (remember very dry hair). I play around with different brands but most of them were not all natural and it really irritated my scalp. Recently I decided to make my own (are you seeing the pattern here. If they don’t make it right. DIY.) The conditioner recipe was really easy to find. A lot of people use apple cider vinegar and water. I was a little skeptical because I use an acv and water mix to clarify my hair. I used one part acv, one part water and I added a little sweet almond oil, castor oil, olive oil, and sunflower oil. I left it in overnight because I was really lazy and I didn’t want to do my hair before bed. The results were moisture, soft hair, and a very clean scalp.

I stress moisture because it is so important to keep you hair and scalp moisturized. Dry hair leads to breakage and we do not want that. We want strong, healthy hair. These are the two challenges I’ve faced since beginning my journey. All the products that I use are made by me and I only use organic cold pressed oils and organic unrefined butters. I always do my research and I’m new to my journey so I’m still learning what my hair likes. Are you having trouble with your regimen? Could it be the products or your tactics? I promise to provide the recipes for mud wash and the conditioner.

10 Comments

  1. Wow! I would love to DIY hair products, but I am a FIRM believer… if someone else can do it and do it well! I am all in for supporting them and their product. With that being said… How do I get my hands on this shampoo and conditioner Dee?!!? Lol my low porosity dry slow growing hair is in need!

    • What are you using now? I’m still developing my products. I love the ingredients now I’m working on how they look. Especially the mud wash I want the consistency to be smoother. I noticed my hair used to be so difficult to moisturize but after I cut out all products with chemicals even my dry porosity hair can go three or four days without me even having to add water.

      • I found a low sulfate poo at Ross made with Keravis (protein) . Its a Kholes brand I believe that is no longer on the market. My conditioners are; Vo5, Aphogee and Sauve Humectant Moisture. Oils/butters: Coconut oil, castor oil. shea butter and h2o. I’ve notices a huge difference once I added the shea butter (this past week). I’ve kept it very with the LOC method.

      • I do not use shampoo but I have about 7 oils that I switch up and use. I’ve noticed my hair loves coconut oil, olive oil and sunflower oil. I make this oil mix that I’ve let a couple people try and they really like it. I wouldn’t mind making you anything. I really love to I just need to get the mud was right before I share with anyone.

  2. Pingback: Dry Hair Problems? | Life With Demetra

Leave a Reply

